December 22, 2006

Garmin Edge 305 Review

garminedge305bundle.jpg
The Garmin Edge line is a fitness trainer GPS that allows you to track your progress while riding a bike. The unit also has some pretty sophisticated capabilities that allow you to set training rides and keep up with those expectations if you can that you set for yourself electronically while sitting in your comfy chair at home. There's a new review on the Garmin Edge up on the internet that talks about the good and the bad, while also touching on the data analysis capabilities of the included software and the available online services. The review is brief, and points out that the unit is designed with PC only software, which can be used on the Mac with Boot Camp. Eventually Garmin is committed to developing Mac based applications.... we hope.

ReadMore at O'Grady's PowerPage

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

December 3, 2006

Review: Garmin GPSMap 60CSx by GPS Lodge

60csx-1.jpg
Ok, it's been a while since we got our hands on the Garmin GPSMap 60CSx, and it's about time we wrote up this review. The Garmin GPSMap 60Csx sits at the top of the Garmin handheld line with loads of features, capabilities and does a pretty good job of maintaining its position there offering a lot in a handheld GPS. The unit comes with a relatively large screen for a handheld that makes things easy to read on the map as well as the capability under the hood to make the thing a nearly bulletproof performer. The SiRF star III chipset is fed through the bulbous helix antenna for excellent reception in all kinds of situations, and the expandable micro-SD card storage system allows you to take a lot of maps and data with you on your trip. The unit ships with a 64MB card, but the cards are always coming down in price and it's easy to find a 1GB card for well under $50. I was able to load up the 60CSx with topo maps and use it for a couple of weeks outdoors and around town, and thoroughly enjoyed the unit. The GPSMap 60CSx is certainly a portable handheld device, but not exactly pocketable. Anyone not absolutely fixated on portability will enjoy the extra screen real estate and the luxury that the SiRF star III chipset can bring in terms of no-doubt satellite reception.

For more GPS Buying information see our Holiday GPS Buying Guide

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Garmin GPSMap 60CSx by GPS Lodge"

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

November 24, 2006

Review: Garmin Nuvi 660 - Excellent

Garmin_Nuvi_660

The Garmin Nuvi 660 is the wonderfully flat and wide screened GPS that is a rock star already in the GPS world. Its thin profile has it ready to go anywhere, and the widescreen shows you so much more than a standard screened navigator, you’ll never want to go back. CNet finally put out their review of the Nuvi 660 and they rate is excellent (8.3 out of 10), and they don’t do that too often. I thought it was the best GPS I have ever used when I reviewed the Nuvi 660 a couple of months ago.

Bonnie Cha at CNet agrees, “We took the Garmin Nuvi 660 out for a test-drive in San Francisco, and it performed wonderfully.” They were concerned over the price, “Now, here's the bad news. It costs a whopping $1,076.91, and you have to fork over even more cash if you want the expanded travel tools.” Come on folks, even the worst bricks and mortar store is selling <$1,000 and we know here at the GPSLodge that it sells for about $750 at Amazon and GPSNow.

ReadMore on the Garmin Nuvi 660 Review at CNet

More Nuvi 660 information.

UPDATE: I have posted my Review of the New Garmin Nuvi 680

For a full list of my own Hands on Full Reviews of GPS units; Click - GPSLodge.com Hands On Reviews

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

November 16, 2006

Garmin Nuvi 660 Reader Comments

Garmin_Nuvi_660

I recently exchanged emails with a reader, Steven, who bought a Garmin Nuvi 660 after reading our review of it, and after using the Nuvi 660 for a while; he had some comments that he agreed I could pass along to other readers. I think they are helpful to read and hear about other users impressions on what the Nuvi 660 is like in action.

On Bluetooth
“I enjoy the Bluetooth, but it still has some limitations when trying to connect to a device. When finally connected, though, the sound is great through the speakers in the car, and even though my phone, Samsung A920 was not recently on the supported phones list, my phone book appeared making dialing a call so much simpler.”

ArrowContinue reading: "Garmin Nuvi 660 Reader Comments"

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

November 12, 2006

Review: Garmin GPSMap 60CSx Arrives for Review

60csx-1.jpg
The Garmin GPSMap 60CSx handheld GPS arrived for review here at the old GPS Lodge and we're happy to take it on a few outings to test it. The Garmin 60 CSx is the top of the line handheld GPS out of the Garmin shop, and recently won the Gear of the Year award from Outside Magazine. The unit comes packed with a lot of features and is able to help you get there and back in style.

UPDATE: See our Review of the Garmin GPSMAP 60CSx

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Garmin GPSMap 60CSx Arrives for Review"

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

November 3, 2006

Review: Garmin Nuvi 660

Garmin_Nuvi_660
Another strong review for the Garmin Nuvi 660 has surfaced; this time from the UK. I think that this is significant because Garmin has a long way to go on the European continent where they trail rival TomTom by a wide margin, upwards to 35% share of the market. We reviewed the Garmin Nuvi 660 in October, and I thought it was the best GPS I have ever used. BIOS simply says, “The Nuvi 660 is a great GPS unit….You’ll pay to get this performance, but if you can stretch your budget you won’t regret it.”

I think that they are right on.

UPDATE: I have posted my Review of the New Nuvi 680

Read My Review of the Garmin Nuvi 660

Read more on the Review of the Garmin Nuvi 660 at Bios

If you want to compare the Garmin Nuvi line check out our article: Garmin Nuvi: Compare the Nuvi 350 vs. 360 vs. 660


Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

October 10, 2006

Review: Garmin Nuvi 660 Review by the GPS Lodge

Garmin_Nuvi_660

In the short time I have had the Garmin Nuvi 660, I have to say that it’s the best GPS I have ever used. It has all of the features that make a GPS worth loving, and with its super bright widescreen, it really stands out in the sun. The slim form factor, at less than an inch thick, is great. For those who are familiar with the Garmin interface, this won’t be a huge departure from what you are used to, simplicity and ease of use reign. The integrated traffic TMC traffic receiver is a welcome addition that allows you to be aware of all the traffic issues that you can now avoid with your smart Nuvi 660 doing the navigating.


UPDATE: I have posted my Review of the Nuvi 680 - check out its MSN direct capabilities.

For a full list of my own Hands on Full Reviews of GPS units; Click - GPSLodge.com Hands On Reviews

Update: Nuvi 660 Cost too much but still want a rock solid flat GPS? Want to Compare the Nuvi 350 vs. Nuvi 360 vs Nuvi 660?

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Garmin Nuvi 660 Review by the GPS Lodge"

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (41) | social bookmarking

October 9, 2006

Review: Garmin Forerunner 305 - Popular GPS for Runners

Another good review has been put up on the Forerunner 305, citing its ease of use and its ability to help you train better. Since we originally reviewed the Forerunner 205, Garmin has introduced the Foot Pod, which straps onto your shoe and allows you to use your Forerunner on a treadmill. Admittedly, the reviewer felt a little silly wearing the thing on his shoe, but it worked well and as advertised. This is a big plus in my mind if you want to keep all of your training data in one place, whether you are on a treadmill or on a nice outdoor run.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Garmin Forerunner 305 - Popular GPS for Runners"

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

September 29, 2006

Review: Garmin Nuvi 350 Review Revisited



The Garmin Nuvi 350 cracked open a big market for Garmin in small svelte GPS navigation systems that could be carried anywhere. The Garmin Nuvi 350 came out priced to blow your pocketbook away but has eased greatly since its debut, and prices online can be found hovering around $600; not bad for such a slim and power packed device. The unit comes equipped with the usual easy to use Garmin interface, but also adds on some components that allow for easy travel; it is billed as a travel companion. The unit has currency converters, and audibook and MP3 playing capability. What really makes it stand out is the simple and small design wrapped around a solid software platform that really makes traveling easy. It’s based on the SiRF star III chipset, so you’ll get great reception almost anywhere you can see the sky.

ReadMore at GPS Review: Garmin Nuvi 350 or at Amazon.com

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

September 28, 2006

Review: Garmin StreetPilot C550 Review Revisited

Garminc550-CF-sm.jpg

The recently released Garmin StreetPilot C550 caps off a run that is a good one for Garmin. The very full featured Garmin C550 features a lot of technology that is cutting edge and well designed. The C550 builds on the C-series by adding some fun features like MP3 player capability, and Bluetooth integration with your phone to make handsfree calling possible. The element that I fell in love with was their integration of the traffic receiver into the 12v power plug- very nice. The traffic is really worth its weight in gold, and a great feature to have. Should you have a traffic incident ahead, the unit puts a little incident icon on the screen and it allows you to choose to navigate around it. Very slick.

Read more at GPS Review: Garmin StreetPilot C550 Review by GPS Lodge or at Amazon.com

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email


Powered by FeedBlitz

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Subscribe - RSS
Site Navigation

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

Archives

TechPiree

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Powered by
Movable Type 6.3
All items Copyright © 1999-2017 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy