Review: Garmin Nuvi 660 Arrives for Review at GPS Lodge

GarminNuvi660sm.jpg

Update: See our Review - GPS Review: Garmin Nuvi 660 Review by GPS Lodge

We are happy to say that the Garmin Nuvi 660 has arrived for review here at the GPS Lodge. The newest member of the Nuvi line-up of course sports a wide screen format while still maintaining a thin pocketable form factor. A lot of people are saying that this might be the best GPS system around. We’ll see, but from the long list of features and the nice design, it’s looking good. The new bright widescreen give you extra real estate that Garmin uses to have extra navigation buttons or simply an extra wide mapping screen to show you what’s down the road. The other nice innovation that comes rolled into the Nuvi 660 is what’s attached to it; namely the traffic receiver that is integrated into the power cord. In a smart move, they rolled the FM traffic receiver into the 12-volt adapter making for simple connections.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Garmin Nuvi 660 Arrives for Review at GPS Lodge"

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

September 27, 2006

Review: Garmin StreetPilot C340 Review Revisited

Update: The Garmin C340 is available on a Black Friday Deal at a good price.

Garmin started something good with their C-series StreetPilot line over a year ago, when they launched the C320 and C330 units. They quickly followed that up with the Garmin StreetPilot C340, the least expensive unit in their line that has text to speech and traffic capabilities. In a quick review of the market, I also believe that the C340 is the cheapest text to speech capable GPS today.

This unit has the basics that the C-series platform offers: 3.5” touchscreen, and easy navigation with the Garmin interface, and also offers, pre-loaded maps and Points of Interest and is traffic ready. The StreetPilot C340 has a FM TMC traffic receiver that picks up silent FM signals that contain traffic feed data and uses that information to route you around the traffic incidents ahead. The service (free for 3 months and ~$60 per year after that) is offered in many cities across the US, and generally on most major roads around that city. The unit is still bargain priced around $450 when you consider the fact that the traffic capability is included.

For more information on the C340 you can read more at GPS Review: Garmin StreetPilot C340 Review by GPS Lodge or at Amazon.com

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

Review: Garmin StreetPilot C330 Review Revisited

Garmin StreetPilot C330

We are going to take a look back at some of the stronger GPS units that have stood up in the marketplace as solid examples of how to do GPS Navigation well. One example of this is the Garmin StreetPilot C330 , what is possibly the best bargain going on the US market today. I say this because it meets a lot of my criteria for ease of use while coming in at below $400 online. The unit starts out with a 3.5” touchscreen and the dead simple Garmin interface. On top of that, the unit comes with maps and points of interest pre-loaded on the unit; gone are the days of loading maps onto the unit from the computer. Open the box, plug in and go. The unit doesn’t offer traffic feeds, Bluetooth connectivity or MP3 playing capability, but if you don’t need these, the C330 is an excellent buy. So while many models have been introduced, including its sibling the Garmin StreetPilot C550, and the TomTom ONE, the Garmin StreetPilot C330 still stands out as a great entry level unit for the price.

For more information read our GPS Review: Garmin StreetPilot C330 Review by GPS Lodge and at Amazon.com

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

Review: Garmin Nuvi 660

GarminNuvi660sm.jpg

Update: Read our review of the Nuvi 660 (It's the best GPS I've used).

Well, we've been oooo-ing and ahhh-ing over the Garmin Nuvi 660 for a while here at GPS Lodge, I would imagine that you have too. Garmin's new wide-screen pocketable model is a pretty good little product that offers top-notch navigation based on an easy Garmin Interface, and NAVTEQ maps, Bluetooth connectivity for hands-free calling, an FM transmitter to get all of your MP3's and Audio books that you tote along on the Nuvi 660 to your car stereo, and the fact that they do this in a slim 23 mm thick device is great. More on the Review of the Garmin Nuvi 660 after the jump.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Garmin Nuvi 660"

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

August 31, 2006

Garmin Forerunner 205/305 User Thoughts and Tips

garminforerunnerpair.jpg

One of our readers, “HappyMarty” from Waverly, Iowa has sent in some tips and thoughts on using his Garmin Forerunner 205 after 3 months of ownership. Recall the Forerunner 205 is the new fitness trainer GPS that uses satellites to track your progress and record your data for you. Garmin’s Training Center software allows you to track your training and logs in your activities by sport. These items also relate to the Garmin Forerunner 305 that adds a Heart Rate function to the unit.

If you want to read more on the Garmin Forerunner 205, we used the Forerunner 205 earlier this year and you can read our review - GPS Review: Garmin Forerunner 205 Review by GPS Lodge

ArrowContinue reading: "Garmin Forerunner 205/305 User Thoughts and Tips"

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

August 16, 2006

Another Great Review for the Garmin StreetPilot C550

garmin_c550_small.jpg
There's another review out on the Garmin StreetPilot C550 GPS navigation system that backs what we saw when we had the Garmin C550 in for our own review at the GPS Lodge earlier this year when we said that the traffic receiver was “Worth its weight in gold.” The well-designed traffic receiver (built right into the power cord) along with the intuitive interface that alerts you to traffic conditions is easy to use and understand. BusinessWeek seems to agree in their recent review of the Garmin StreetPilot C550 GPS navigation system and think that the unit and its traffic capabilities are an impressive addition to the usual solid navigation performance.

ArrowContinue reading: "Another Great Review for the Garmin StreetPilot C550"

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

July 31, 2006

Review: Garmin Nuvi 360


The successor to the very popular Garmin Nuvi 350 has hit the market and the Garmin Nuvi 360 is pretty solid. The Garmin Nuvi 360 is a small form factor GPS that has a BIG set of capabilities. When you review the capabilities, the Garmin Nuvi 360 has a big compelling feature that differentiates it from its sibling the Garmin Nuvi 350. The Garmin Nuvi 360 is Bluetooth capable and can function as a hands free calling device if you have a Bluetooth phone. Very cool if you do, and very easy to use.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Garmin Nuvi 360"

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

July 24, 2006

Review: Garmin StreetPilot C550 Review by GPS Lodge


"The C550 is the must have GPS for the foreseeable future."


garminc550.jpg

For the past month we have been driving all over the place guided by the Garmin StreetPilot C550 GPS, it has been an excellent experience. The unit has a lot going for it, and it more than delivers on the promise of getting you from here to there; it pampers you as you go with confidence and style. The interface is clean, the routing well done, and the traffic reporting very helpful and very well done. This is an excellent product that I would recommend to anyone looking for a mid-tier GPS. It’s on the pricy side with it being at the top of the mid-tier line, but if you have high expectations, the Garmin StreetPilot C550 can deliver.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Garmin StreetPilot C550 Review by GPS Lodge"

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

July 11, 2006

Review: Garmin StreetPilot C550 GPS Review - CNet

The new Garmin StreetPilot C550 is hitting the shelves these days and another review has hit the Net. This time its CNet running the Garmin C550 through its paces. Recall that we have the Garmin C550 in house for review and will be writing up our thoughts on the unit in the coming weeks. The bottom line for CNet is that “The c550 offers the same great navigation features as its more economical cousin, the Garmin StreetPilot C330 , but adds a number of great improvements, such as Bluetooth integration, text-to-speech functionality, and traffic information. More important, it performs these functions well. It's a bit on the pricey side, but for the money, you get a great all-around portable navigation device.”

ReadMore

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

July 7, 2006

Review: Garmin Quest 2 GPS Review


Garmin announced the launch of the Garmin Quest 2 GPS receiver for North America last summer and a new review of this GPS is up talking over the pros and cons of this navigation device. It's portable and versatile enough to go in your automobile, on foot and into wet locations due to its water resistant design (i.e. on your Motorcycle or on a hike). The Quest 2 is an upgrade from the older Garmin Quest, and is priced in the mid-tier of GPS navigation units. The Garmin Quest 2 has voice based directions that are routed through the 12V power adapter presumably due to the water resistance requirements on the unit, but the unit also runs on its internal battery when not connected to power.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Garmin Quest 2 GPS Review"

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email


Powered by FeedBlitz

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Subscribe - RSS
Site Navigation

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

Archives

TechPiree

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Powered by
Movable Type 6.3.6
All items Copyright © 1999-2017 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy