July 6, 2006

Review: Garmin StreetPilot C550 GPS Review from TIME

Garminc550-CF-sm.jpg
A short review has hit the net on the Garmin StreetPilot C550 - saying that it's the "Must have accessory for summer road trips." Not a bad assessment. We have the Garmin C550 in house right now for our own review, and I agree that it is very good. My review will be coming in a few weeks. For now, you can check out what Time magazine thought of the StreetPilot C550 in their review of the popular mid-tier GPS.

ReadMore at TIME

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

July 2, 2006

Review: Garmin TrailGuide GPS for Jeep Wrangler

garmintrailguidelg2.jpg

Last year Garmin announced their special edition Jeep Trail Guide specifically made for the demands of off-roading for the Jeep Wrangler line. Well the folks over at Off Road magazine seem to like the unit and like the idea of having a GPS with them full time. The unit mounts nicely in the new Wranglers, and fits into a docking station that integrates into the dash. When not in use the unit is hidden from view.

Overall, they liked it a lot saying, “Once you start using a navigation/GPS system in your off-road vehicle, it's hard to go without.”

ReadMore at Off Road Magazine

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

June 28, 2006

Review: Garmin StreetPilot C550 Arrives for Review at the GPS Lodge

garminc550.jpg


Update - Read our review:
Garmin StreetPilot C550 Review by GPS Lodge

The Garmin StreetPilot C550 arrived for review at the GPS Lodge, and we’re pretty excited. The StreetPilot C550 is the latest addition to the popular C-series for Garmin. Late last year we reviewed the StreetPilot C340, and though that it was great. Very simple, very accurate, very good. (Read our review).

The new additions to the Garmin C-series was announced back in March at the CeBIT in Germany, and included the C510, the C530 and the C550. The C510 has European coverage, and optional traffic alerts, the C530 has the same features for the US market and the C550 has Bluetooth hands free speaker phone capability, FM traffic alerts standard, an MP3 player, and text to speech capability to say street names. All C500 series products have the SiRF star III chipset, preloaded maps and an SD card slot for added features and memory.


ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Garmin StreetPilot C550 Arrives for Review at the GPS Lodge"

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

May 16, 2006

GPS Review: Garmin iQUE 3000

CNet has a quick video review of the new Garmin iQue 3000. The iQue 3000 is a Palm based PIM/PDA that will still perform the basic funcitons of a PDA while welcoming you with the familiar "Where to?" and "View Maps" interface that graces many Garmin devices. It has basic Palm functionality while offering a flip up antenna that will pull down the satellite signals for GPS funcitons. Check it out at CNet.

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

May 15, 2006

GPS Review: Garmin StreetPilot C550

Garmin StreetPilot C550

The Garmin StreetPilot line is a popular line in the mid-tier for automotive GPS devices. I had a chance to review the StreetPilot c340 last year, and I thought it was a great GPS. Garmin has announced the StreetPilot C550 model and the first reviews are showing up on the web; verdict is that the new unit is good. Overall, the big news on the new StreetPilot C550 is that it has Bluetooth connectivity, which is something that TomTom has had for a while in their GO line. But that’s not all the new StreetPilot C550 has going for it.

Update: See what we had to say about the Garmin StreetPilot C550 in our Review after using it for a month at the GPS Lodge - ReadMore

ArrowContinue reading: "GPS Review: Garmin StreetPilot C550"

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

April 24, 2006

Review: Garmin Forerunner 205 Review by GPS Lodge

Garmin Forerunner 205

Garmin introduced the Forerunner 205 and Forerunner 305 this past January at the CES show, as a big improvement to the category changing Forerunner 101, 201 and 301 personal training aids. With the Forerunner 201 and Forerunner 301 on the market, one has to ask if the new designs are worth the extra money. After using the Forerunner 205 for the past month, I can appreciate the new design features and capabilities, and if it were up to me, I would pay the extra money for the newly upgraded Forerunner 205 and 305 units. If you are value minded, the Forerunner 201 and 301 are not bad units, but I'll walk through a few of the features below that I think make the Forerunner 205 and 305's worthwhile.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Garmin Forerunner 205 Review by GPS Lodge"

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

April 7, 2006

GPS Review: Garmin Streetpilot 7200

The Garmin StreetPilot 7200 is a huge GPS for huge needs, and with its massive 7-inch screen, you'll be able to see a lot of information about where you are going. The TFT touch-screen display automatically adjusts the backlighting level based on current lighting conditions. The screen brightness is excellent, and easily viewable in all lighting conditions—even bright sunlight. It's got a few features to run through that are interesting.

ArrowContinue reading: "GPS Review: Garmin Streetpilot 7200"

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

March 23, 2006

Garmin StreetPilot C340 vs. Lowrance iWay 350c

We have had a lot of requests for a comparison of the Garmin StreetPilot C340 and the Lowrance iWay 350c. Both are mid-tier priced GPS units for the car that are good performers in their own way. We have used them both at the GPS Lodge, and wrote up reviews on them.
Review of Garmin StreetPilot C340 by GPS Lodge, or
Review of the Lowrance iWay 350c by GPS Lodge

Let's take a look at the two GPS units.

ArrowContinue reading: "Garmin StreetPilot C340 vs. Lowrance iWay 350c"

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

March 18, 2006

GPS Review: Garmin Forerunner 205 Arrives for Review at the GPS Lodge

Garmin Forerunner 205

The Garmin Forerunner 205 arrived for review today at the GPS Lodge, time to put the running shoes on. Garmin announced the upgrade to the popular Forerunner 201 and Forerunner 301 in January at the Consumer Electronics Show. The big change is the shape and the inclusion of the SiRF star III chipset, both targeted at the quality of satellite signal. The wrap around shape helps the unit keep the GPS receiver chip facing the sky for better reception, while the highly sensitive SiRF star III chipset helps keep a lock on the satellite signal (for more information on why the SiRF star III chipset is a big deal – see this article). The shape of the unit also makes it more user friendly and more appealing overall as a training device as it looks more like a watch and less like some techno-gadget.

ArrowContinue reading: "GPS Review: Garmin Forerunner 205 Arrives for Review at the GPS Lodge"

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

February 23, 2006

Garmin Nuvi 350 Review

The Garmin Nuvi 350 travelers assistant was launched a few months ago, and is becoming a hot must have GPS with a slim form factor, high acclaim, and unfortunately a high price. In the latest Review of the Garmin Nuvi 350, CNet has packed on the praise for the unit, saying that the unit that is "no bigger than a deck of cards ... is more than just another voice-guided GPS device, packing travel tools, entertainment features, and good performance." They do cite issues with the steep price, and the fact that traffic features are extra.


More at CNet

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email


Powered by FeedBlitz

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Subscribe - RSS
Site Navigation

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

Archives

TechPiree

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Powered by
Movable Type 6.3.6
All items Copyright © 1999-2017 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy