New Garmin StreetPilot 2730 GPS - Announced Officially

In addition to the StreetPilot 7200 and 7500 Media Center GPS's that were announced, the Garmin also let news out on the StreetPilot 2730. The StreetPilot 2730 is built on the existing 2700 chassis, which means a smaller screen (compared to the 7" screen on the 7200/7500 - see related article). Hey, what can I say, the 2730 takes a whole bunch of the 7200/7500 features and jams it into the 2700 chassis, without the big screen. There you have it, that's what you need to know. It doesn't do video playback, and doesn't do the Dead Reckoning of the 7500. What does it do? It does GPS stuff, with a pretty good set of goodies; enough to be interesting.

ArrowContinue reading: "New Garmin StreetPilot 2730 GPS - Announced Officially"

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

October 20, 2005

Garmin StreetPilot i3 Arrives for Review

The tiny but powerful Garmin StreetPilot i3 arrived for review today at the GPS Lodge. In looking at the thing, one can't help but remark on its tiny size. Not much bigger than a tennis ball, the StreetPilot i3 packs a lot of navigation help in a small package. It is targeted at entry level car GPS system users. The i3 and the i2 were announced back in July (see our article), with a follow-up release of the i5 in the middle of September (see article). The main differences being that the i2 starts with transflash based memory and a monochrome screen, the i3 adds a color screen, and the i5 comes pre-loaded with detailed North America maps.

(Update: See our review article on the StreetPilot i3 GPS.)

ArrowContinue reading: "Garmin StreetPilot i3 Arrives for Review"

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

October 11, 2005

Another Good Review: Garmin StreetPilot 2720

The ever expanding Automotive GPS category got a big bump this past summer with the Garmin StreetPilot 2720 - advanced GPS routing with text to speech turn by turn directions and an innovative traffic feature (optional) that gets real time traffic feeds and turns it into useful re-routing options for you to avoid wasting time in the traffic jams you haven't even sat in yet.

(If you haven't heard of the next step in traffic avoidance, check out our post on Inrix - predictive traffic services that is teaming with Tele Atlas providers of mapping information to GPS manufacturers.)

ArrowContinue reading: "Another Good Review: Garmin StreetPilot 2720"

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

September 19, 2005

New Garmin StreetPilot i5 - building on the entry level of the Automotive segment

Garmin today announced the Garmin StreetPilot i5 GPS Navigator, it is pre-loaded with detailed maps of North America which includes the entire United States, Canada, and Puerto Rico. It features three buttons on the face of the unit: on/off button, "back" button, and a unique and convenient click-to-enter scroll wheel -- which makes it easy to select a destination from the unit's menu-driven interface.

See our coverage of the Garmin StreetPilot i2 and i3 launch announcement.
See our related article on a StreetPilot i3 gps review.

See our own GPS Review of the StreetPilot i5's sibling the StreetPilot i3: Garmin StreetPilot i3 Review at the GPS Lodge

ArrowContinue reading: "New Garmin StreetPilot i5 - building on the entry level of the Automotive segment"

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

September 1, 2005

Review: Garmin V GPS Review

We wanted to review some of the other GPS receivers in the Garmin line and today we are looking at the Garmin V GPS, a versitile GPS receiver that is right at home either as a hand held device out on the trail, or on the dashboard of your car.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Garmin V GPS Review"

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

August 31, 2005

GPS NEWS: NEW Garmin Edge - a GPS Targeted at Bicyclists

Now we're talking. Faithful readers know we like to use our GPS devices out on the road while we bike, and here we go with the Garmin Edge 205 and Garmin Edge 305 (available in several configurations - see below) bicycle trainer GPS devices. These are GPS receivers with built in cycle computers. Garmin claims that it is "the ultimate fitness partner." They incorporate the SiRF star III architecture for enhanced accuracy and speed to fix on a satellite. (See our related article.)

ArrowContinue reading: "GPS NEWS: NEW Garmin Edge - a GPS Targeted at Bicyclists"

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

August 20, 2005

GPS Review: Garmin StreetPilot c330

Another positive review of the Garmin StreetPilot C330 has hit the wires. They have accurately picked up on the target for this device, the simplicity of the interface and features attract the GPS Newbies. Garmin has taken a $200 price drop on the item to a new list price of $699. While serious users may want something more sophisitcated, the StreetPilot c330 offers quite a bit. The StreetPilot c330 offers pre-loaded maps on a hard drive, with a simple easy to use interface and a decent sized screen that adapts for night viewing by changing the color scheme. The voice promting is also included on the c330.

ArrowContinue reading: "GPS Review: Garmin StreetPilot c330"

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

August 13, 2005

New Magellan eXplorist 210 - Map Expandability, Large Internal Memory

Magellan announced that they will launch the Magellan eXplorist 210 , beefing up the eXplorist line to include GPS mapping capabilities in a low priced handheld GPS model. The eXplorist 210 includes USB conectivity, 22MB of space to store downloaded maps, a 2.3" grayscale display, and accuracy to 3 meters, all in a water resistant shock resistent case.

ArrowContinue reading: "New Magellan eXplorist 210 - Map Expandability, Large Internal Memory"

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

August 11, 2005

GPS Review: Garmin StreetPilot c340 - compact, traffic enabled

UPDATE: CNET has taken a look at the Garmin StreetPilot C340 and has a few more details on the new unit. specifically they add some info on the traffic avoidance features:

"The c340 also shows you congested traffic areas via color-coded maps, but to take advantage of this feature, you'll have to purchase the optional traffic receiver for $199.99, which includes 15 months of service."

See our Article: Garmin StreetPilot C340 Arrives for Review at the GPS Lodge

Our previous article from July 15th is below:

Garmin introduced the Garmin StreetPilot C340 today along with the other crop of new models. The Streetpilot c340 is a compact lower priced model that has adopted the traffic ready feed features of the higher priced Streetpilot 2720. (See related coverage HERE. Read more on the GTM FM Traffic reciever in our article covering its launch. ).

ArrowContinue reading: "GPS Review: Garmin StreetPilot c340 - compact, traffic enabled"

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

GPS Review: Garmin i3

Garmin has announced and is in the middle of launching a whole bunch of GPS receivers. On July 15th they announced six new models including the Garmin StreetPilot i3, a compact color GPS reveicer that is designed to be an entry level automotive GPS unit. CNET has reviewed the unit and there are a lot of upsides and a few downsides. Garmin has claimed to target "commuters, college students, and corporate travelers who are looking to experience the ease and enjoyment of GPS satellite navigation for the first time."

GPS Lodge has the Garmin StreetPilot i3 in for Review - read the article.

ArrowContinue reading: "GPS Review: Garmin i3"

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email


Powered by FeedBlitz

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Subscribe - RSS
Site Navigation

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

Archives

TechPiree

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Powered by
Movable Type 6.3
All items Copyright © 1999-2017 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy