September 25, 2006

Review: DeLorme StreetAtlas USA 2007 Plus Arrives for Review

DelormeSA2007PLUS.jpg
Wanted to let you know that the Delorme Street Atlas 2007 Plus DVD arrived for review today at the GPS Lodge. The DeLorme Street Atlas is no stranger to us here at the Lodge, as the Street Atlas product and an old monochrome eTrex has helped pilot us on several week long bike trips. No, I didn’t take the computer on the bike, but there are a few people who have been known to do that. We used the StreetAtlas software extensively to plan routes and trips as the data is highly accurate, and the features plentiful. So, we’re pretty excited to take the new version of the StreetAtlas for a spin around the block, per se.

Street Atlas USA 2007 comes out with several great features including aerial images and expanded support for handheld devices, including PDAs, phones and portable media players. If that wasn’t enough, it also includes over 3.5 million new or revised roads in the U.S. plus, for the first time from DeLorme, the addition of street-level detail and places of interest for Canada. Yum, so stay tuned over the next couple of weeks, and we’ll let you know what’s up with DeLorme StreetAtlas USA 2007. Street Atlas comes in two flavors this year, the Delorme Street Atlas 2007 and the Delorme Street Atlas 2007 Plus DVD which adds 120 million phone data records (searchable), large format printing and XData importing for Excel, Act and other similar programs.

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

September 19, 2006

GPS Review: Averatec Voya 350

averatecvoya350.jpg

Another review of the Averatec Voya 350 has popped up on the net. This takes a basic look at the new to the market device and overall, there are no killer issues with this inexpensive unit, although the unit lacks some features that you may come to expect. This includes not being able to select different route preferences on the unit like Fastest, Shortest, etc. Honestly I use Fastest almost all the time, but it would be an issue if I couldn’t avoid highways or toll roads for some of my travels. The unit also lacks some of the finesse that other more established models offer like easy access to frequently needed buttons at the first level of the menu.

ReadMore on another Review of the Averatec Voya 350

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

September 13, 2006

Review: TomTom ONE Arrives for Review at the GPS Lodge

The new TomTom ONE arrived for review today at the GPS Lodge. We're pretty happy to have it in house for a while, and luckily enough we are on the road this weekend so we'll be able to give it a good workout. It's small, and will be easy to bring with us. Recall the TomTom ONE is a thin, pocketable GPS navigation system that was announced last month and just recently hit the shelves in plenty of time for the holidays. The TomTom ONE should be on a lot of wish lists this year.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: TomTom ONE Arrives for Review at the GPS Lodge"

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

September 7, 2006

Review: GlobalSat GH601 Review

GlobalSat announced the GH601 wrist mounted fitness trainer late last year, and a review has popped up that I thought I would pass along. Garmin jump started the market with their line of Forerunner GPS units, and it had to be only a matter of time before others would join in. The GlobalSat GH601 looks more like the older Garmin Forerunners (201, 301, etc), and not the newer more watch like models that have made some big hardware and aesthetic improvements (205, 305). Overall, this review walks through some of the technical aspects of the unit, and using it on runs. Sounds like it performs well, with its SiRF star III chipset, but in use, a small rubber USB port door broke off pretty quickly.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: GlobalSat GH601 Review"

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

September 5, 2006

Review: Averatec Voya 350

averatecvoya350.jpg

You may not have heard of the name Averatec in the GPS realm, but they are an interesting new entry in the field of GPS systems that sets a new benchmark for affordability in a basic GPS. (They are running a rebate right now for purchases through the end of 2006 reducing the price down to around $350.) The Averatec Voya 350 is a basic GPS system that has pre-loaded maps of the US and Canada, and a POI database. A recent review online indicates that it’s fairly solid, but has a few interface and design quirks that take some getting use to; I think most new tech toys do anyway, and it’s only if those things annoy you 2 months later do they really take their toll.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Averatec Voya 350"

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

August 24, 2006

GPS Review: Another Solid Review for TomTom ONE

ttoneNAdesk.jpg

CNet has posted their review of the TomTom ONE after getting their hands on one. My hunch is that Bonnie wasn’t too happy to have been scooped by Craig Ellison over at PC Mag (See our post) who had a TomTom ONE to review before the press release last week. Anyway, CNet has taken a look at the TomTom ONE GPS Nagivation System and has similar conclusions, simple, easy to use basic GPS system that gets you there in style for a decent price.

ArrowContinue reading: "GPS Review: Another Solid Review for TomTom ONE"

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

August 18, 2006

Review: TomTom ONE North America

ttoneNAdesk.jpg

So, on the heels of yesterday’s big announcement that TomTom is bringing the TomTom ONE to North America, there are a couple of reviews out there. The TomTom ONE is being positioned as an entry-level device (more like mid-tier to me), without the high-end Bluetooth compatibility and iPod connectivity of the TomTom GO 910. I think that the TomTom One marks a change in where the GPS navigation systems are headed. If you hadn’t noticed, the US version of the TomTom ONE is different than the Euro version announced late last year. It’s smaller and lighter, and fits nicely in your pocket. The Garmin Nuvi 350 popularized this idea, and we recently reviewed the Mio C310 that is also very small and convenient to use. The bottom line is that these units need to get small; it’s a much better user experience if you can carry these with you more easily. Smaller is better when functionality is the same.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: TomTom ONE North America"

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

August 17, 2006

GPS Review: Palm GPS Navigator Smartphone Edition

palmgpsttn6.gif

Palm announced earlier this week that they released the Palm GPS Navigation System with TomTom Navigator 6 on board, and there is a great review out on the net already. The Palm GPS Navigator is designed to work with your Treo phone, with all the well known functionality of TomTom’s interface and dataset. The GPS receiver (a SiRF star III based system) is a small Bluetooth module that looks a bit more generic than the last version and is reported to have some fast acquisition times as one would expect from this chipset. The GPS module is powered by a 12Volt adapter or a battery back up that will offer some time untethered.

ArrowContinue reading: "GPS Review: Palm GPS Navigator Smartphone Edition"

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

August 16, 2006

Another Great Review for the Garmin StreetPilot C550

garmin_c550_small.jpg
There's another review out on the Garmin StreetPilot C550 GPS navigation system that backs what we saw when we had the Garmin C550 in for our own review at the GPS Lodge earlier this year when we said that the traffic receiver was “Worth its weight in gold.” The well-designed traffic receiver (built right into the power cord) along with the intuitive interface that alerts you to traffic conditions is easy to use and understand. BusinessWeek seems to agree in their recent review of the Garmin StreetPilot C550 GPS navigation system and think that the unit and its traffic capabilities are an impressive addition to the usual solid navigation performance.

ArrowContinue reading: "Another Great Review for the Garmin StreetPilot C550"

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

August 11, 2006

Review: Sony GPS-CS1

sonygpstag.jpg

A new review has popped up already on teh Sony CS-1 that was recently announced. Overall the verdict is that the unit is pretty good. The author also figured out that the output will likely sync with other digital cameras too. So much for Sony only working with Sony - Thanks!

ReadMore

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email


Powered by FeedBlitz

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Subscribe - RSS
Site Navigation

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

Archives

TechPiree

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Powered by
Movable Type 6.3
All items Copyright © 1999-2017 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy