July 6, 2006

Review: Garmin StreetPilot C550 GPS Review from TIME

Garminc550-CF-sm.jpg
A short review has hit the net on the Garmin StreetPilot C550 - saying that it's the "Must have accessory for summer road trips." Not a bad assessment. We have the Garmin C550 in house right now for our own review, and I agree that it is very good. My review will be coming in a few weeks. For now, you can check out what Time magazine thought of the StreetPilot C550 in their review of the popular mid-tier GPS.

ReadMore at TIME

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

July 3, 2006

Review: Mio C310 Review by GPS Lodge

MioC310GPS.JPG


Update: See our Review of the new Mio C310x GPS, Compare the Mio C310 vs. the Mio C310x
Update: I talked with Mio and got an update on Map fixes and more. See the post.


We have been using the Mio C310 for a while here at the GPS Lodge, and when we got it back in May, I’ll admit it, I wasn’t expecting a knock-out performer. I mean designing a solid piece of consumer electronics – software and hardware, isn’t easy, and I have seen my share of poor design in GPS devices. Not just anyone can do this, and from the list of failures in the market it seems like there’s more do designing a sound GPS than one might think. Watch out, Mio has something here in the Mio C310. Is it perfect? No, but who is? It’s pretty darn good and it certainly beat my expectations.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Mio C310 Review by GPS Lodge"

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (34) | social bookmarking

July 2, 2006

Review: Garmin TrailGuide GPS for Jeep Wrangler

garmintrailguidelg2.jpg

Last year Garmin announced their special edition Jeep Trail Guide specifically made for the demands of off-roading for the Jeep Wrangler line. Well the folks over at Off Road magazine seem to like the unit and like the idea of having a GPS with them full time. The unit mounts nicely in the new Wranglers, and fits into a docking station that integrates into the dash. When not in use the unit is hidden from view.

Overall, they liked it a lot saying, “Once you start using a navigation/GPS system in your off-road vehicle, it's hard to go without.”

ReadMore at Off Road Magazine

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

June 28, 2006

Review: Garmin StreetPilot C550 Arrives for Review at the GPS Lodge

garminc550.jpg


Update - Read our review:
Garmin StreetPilot C550 Review by GPS Lodge

The Garmin StreetPilot C550 arrived for review at the GPS Lodge, and we’re pretty excited. The StreetPilot C550 is the latest addition to the popular C-series for Garmin. Late last year we reviewed the StreetPilot C340, and though that it was great. Very simple, very accurate, very good. (Read our review).

The new additions to the Garmin C-series was announced back in March at the CeBIT in Germany, and included the C510, the C530 and the C550. The C510 has European coverage, and optional traffic alerts, the C530 has the same features for the US market and the C550 has Bluetooth hands free speaker phone capability, FM traffic alerts standard, an MP3 player, and text to speech capability to say street names. All C500 series products have the SiRF star III chipset, preloaded maps and an SD card slot for added features and memory.


ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Garmin StreetPilot C550 Arrives for Review at the GPS Lodge"

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

June 23, 2006

GPS Review: Magellan RoadMate 3000T

RoadMate 3000T

A new review has hit the presses on the Magellan RoadMate 3000T and from the article, there are a lot of solid featres in the unit. The unit is launched into the more crowded mid-tier sweetspot of GPS receivers for cars. For me, this is the place that solid features for a good price intersect. The units here have reasonably sized screens, easy to use interfaces with a touch screen driven system, and they are affordable in the $350 and up range.

Craig Ellison from PC Magazine has a review up, and in summary he says, “Magellan's RoadMate 3000T is a good, solid competitor in the $600 range. Features such as SmartDetour and Quick Spell differentiate it from some of its competitors. An improved interface and the combination of hardware buttons and touch-screen input make it easier to use than earlier RoadMate models.”

ReadMore at PCMag

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

June 8, 2006

GPS Review: Sony Nav-U70 GPS Review

  • Update: See the news on the new Sony NV-71T the replacement for the NV-70.

  • Update: See the news on the New Sony Nav-U80 and Nav-U81T - HERE

    With the summer driving and vacation season upon us, you may be considering a GPS purchase in your future, so it's no surprise that a lot of new models have hit the stores in recent weeks. One is the Sony Nav-U NV-U70, a major effort by Sony to get into the growing mobile GPS catagory. The product appears to be a real player, with solid navigation and decent features. There was a recent PC Magazine review online (see our article), that gave the unit praise for its ease of use, but thought that there were some other products on the marketplace that gave better featuresets for the same or better price; but isn't that almost always the case with Sony?

    Another review has popped up online that takes a look at the Sony Nav-U70. This time CNet takes a look at the new entry from Sony and sees a nice simple interface on this GPS, but has a few questins about it too. They give it a 6.3 out of 10.

    ArrowContinue reading: "GPS Review: Sony Nav-U70 GPS Review"

    Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking
  • June 7, 2006

    GPS Review: FineDrive 400 GPS

    The Fine Drive 400 was announced late last year, and since then has gotten quite a few negative comments on our site about its function and its reliability in rainy weather. Given that our readers had such mixed reaction to the unit (scroll to the bottom of the annoucement link above), it seems to me that it's an unknown and not something you would want to buy before you try. Well the folks over at CNet have the same low opinion of the FineDrive 400 as many of our readers, as they gave it a 3.7 out of 10.

    Update: Thinking of buying this unit? Make sure you read the comments below this post and over at this post where it was announced. A lot of readers have a lot to say about this unit!

    How are you doing? Check out our Holiday GPS Shopping Guide for some guidance on what GPS is right for you.

    CNet says:

    ArrowContinue reading: "GPS Review: FineDrive 400 GPS"

    Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (16) | social bookmarking

    May 28, 2006

    GPS Review: Mio C310 arrives for Review at the GPS Lodge

    MioC310.jpg

    We just recieved the Mio C310 GPS at the GPS Lodge for review. Both the Mio C310 and the Mio C710 were announced back in January. The Mio C710 will be released here in the States later this year, and comes with added features like Bluetooth connectivity and lifetime traffic feeds. The Mio C310 is a personal GPS that can fit into your pocket to go wiht you where ever your travels take you.

    UPDATE: See our Review of the Mio C310

    The unit comes with the now popular MP3 playing capability, a touchscreen, on-board battery, built in maps of North America, and the ability to give directions in English, French and Spanish. The unit also has the highly sensitive SiRF star III GPS module which allows it to be ultra sensitive, locking onto satellites in tough conditions. The unit is small and less than an inch thick (measureing about 4.3" x 3" x 0.78"), and pocketable, nice to take with you.

    ArrowContinue reading: "GPS Review: Mio C310 arrives for Review at the GPS Lodge"

    Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

    May 16, 2006

    GPS Review: Garmin iQUE 3000

    CNet has a quick video review of the new Garmin iQue 3000. The iQue 3000 is a Palm based PIM/PDA that will still perform the basic funcitons of a PDA while welcoming you with the familiar "Where to?" and "View Maps" interface that graces many Garmin devices. It has basic Palm functionality while offering a flip up antenna that will pull down the satellite signals for GPS funcitons. Check it out at CNet.

    Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

    May 15, 2006

    GPS Review: Garmin StreetPilot C550

    Garmin StreetPilot C550

    The Garmin StreetPilot line is a popular line in the mid-tier for automotive GPS devices. I had a chance to review the StreetPilot c340 last year, and I thought it was a great GPS. Garmin has announced the StreetPilot C550 model and the first reviews are showing up on the web; verdict is that the new unit is good. Overall, the big news on the new StreetPilot C550 is that it has Bluetooth connectivity, which is something that TomTom has had for a while in their GO line. But that’s not all the new StreetPilot C550 has going for it.

    Update: See what we had to say about the Garmin StreetPilot C550 in our Review after using it for a month at the GPS Lodge - ReadMore

    ArrowContinue reading: "GPS Review: Garmin StreetPilot C550"

    Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

    Join the Mailing List Mailing List
    Enter your Email


    Powered by FeedBlitz

    facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

    Subscribe - RSS
    Site Navigation

    Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

    Archives

    TechPiree

    This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

    Powered by
    Movable Type 6.3
    All items Copyright © 1999-2017 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy