January 12, 2006

Lowrance iWay 350C Arrives for Review at the GPS Lodge

Lowrance iWay 350CThe Lowrance iWay 350C arrived for review at the GPS Lodge and we are pretty happy to see it. Lowrance has been ramping up production on these and I had to wait for Santa to get all of his delivered before I could get a review unit - I don't resent it; it's great sounds like business is brisk. The Lowrance iWay 350 was recently released and is in the crowded mid-tier automotive GPS segment. It has lots of features laid out in a nice compact product. The 3.5" backlit LCD touch screen is bright and is easy to read. The unit gives you turn-by-turn voice guided directions on your way while navigating, telling "Turn Right on Main Street" and not "Turn Right in 400 feet." This is quickly becoming a standard feature and one that I have come to appreciate. I think that this feature is great when turning streets start to get close together, and you need that extra reassurance of what street to turn onto. Another nice feature is the on-board lithium ion, which allows you to operate without being tethered to the car power outlet.


See our review of the Lowrance iWay 350c.

ArrowContinue reading: "Lowrance iWay 350C Arrives for Review at the GPS Lodge"

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

December 13, 2005

Review: Garmin StreetPilot C330 GPS Review by GPS Lodge

Garmin StreetPilot C330The Garmin StreetPilot C330 is right in the middle of Garmin's mid-tier automotive GPS line. The feature set is solid, and only left me wanting for a few things. With its solid NAVTEQ map base and Garmin's experience in routing you from here to there, the guidance can be trusted to get you where you want to go. It's a powerful GPS that is very easy to use, and comes pre-loaded with maps and millions of points of interest. Just take it out of the box, turn it on and go.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Garmin StreetPilot C330 GPS Review by GPS Lodge"

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

December 2, 2005

Review: Garmin StreetPilot C340 GPS Review by GPS Lodge

Update: The Garmin C340 is available on a Black Friday Deal at a good price.

The Garmin StreetPilot C340 arrived for review a few weeks ago, and right out of the box, I knew I would really like this thing. It only got better over time, and I can say I am in love with it. Like Goldie Locks said, "That one's too small, and that one's too big, but the Streetpilot C340 is just right." (or something like that). The feature set is solid, and only left me wanting for a few things, while the text to speech voice commands are crisp, clear and welcome as you are driving. I found myself trusting its guidance, and let myself drive unknown back roads under the supervision of the StreetPilot C340 knowing full well that I would arrive at my destination at the appointed time. It's a powerful GPS that is very easy to use, and comes pre-loaded with maps and millions of points of interest. Just take it out of the box, turn it on and go.

See our Update on the StreetPilot C340

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Garmin StreetPilot C340 GPS Review by GPS Lodge"

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (5) | social bookmarking

November 25, 2005

GPS Lodge Holiday Shopping Guide



Sometimes it's hard to navigate the world of GPS receivers and find what the best GPS is, so we thought we'd put together a list of GPS units we like, for you to consider. We took a look at a lot of different types of GPS receivers and broke things down to categories so you'd be able to better target the right GPS for that special someone this holiday season. See our review section for our opinion on a lot of these models.

Entry Level Automotive GPS
Garmin StreetPilot i3 - This is a great little unit that helps get you from here to there. Impressive performance for such a low price. It has a small screen that allows you to clearly see where you are going and where you want to go. It's easy to use, and is tightly designed. It's an impressive unit with a color screen and comes with maps of the US that you download to a flash card. If you can spend a little more, you can buy the Garmin StreetPilot i5which is essentially the StreetPilot i3, that has the entire US and millions of Points of interest pre-loaded.

Mid Tier Automotive GPS
Sorry I can't decide so I thought I would offer two:
TomTom GO 300 - is a great mid-tier car GPS that comes to us from Europe. The design is great, and offers the added feature of connecting through your Bluetooth mobile phone to download traffic and weather updates. This is a unique feature at this price level. It comes with a big SD flash card that you download maps onto - allowing you to carry around the entire US, with a limited set of Points of Interest (POI's). Cost $591 after $50 rebate and FREE SHIPPING form Amazon.

Garmin Streetpilot C330 - is another great mid-tier car GPS that is easy to use with the highly accurate NAVTEQ base maps, the most up-to-date maps of the continental US. It includes a touch screen and millions of points of interest pre-loaded. If you want to upgrade to be traffic ready consider the Garmin StreetPilot C340 , which has the ability to accept the GTM-10 an add-on antenna that receives FM traffic feeds to help you route around traffic before you get there. Cost is $540 with FREE SHIPPING from Amazon. We are currently reviewing the StreetPilot C340, see our preview. I personally LOVE this GPS, and is a great product. If you don't need high end features and huge screens, this is a great buy.

High End Automotive GPS
Magellan RoadMate 760 - A tried and true road warrior that has lots of positive reviews online. It has a lot of features and is very easy to use. This is the model that helps drivers at Hertz - the Neverlost model. Cost is $850 with FREE SHIPPING from Amazon.

Garmin StreetPilot 2720 - a good solid high end automotive GPS that offers loads of features including the ability to add the GTM - 10 antenna to receive FM based traffic feeds. Easy navigation and the ability to route you around traffic. Cost is $760 + $199 (for the FM antenna ) = $959 with FREE SHIPPING from Amazon.

Entry Level Handheld GPS
Garmin eTrex Legend - This is a good entry level monochrome handheld GPS that offers a base map and can accept the optional detailed maps. In our opinion, you should really get a GPS with mapping capability because for an extra $30, you can navigate across a map instead of some white space. Cost is $132 with FREE SHIPPING form Amazon.

Mid-Tier Handheld GPS
Garmin eTrex Vista C - The Vista C adds several key features like an altimeter and an electronic compass. The color screen is bright and because it is a newer generation, the battery life is much longer on the two "AA" batteries. It comes with a base map and can accept detailed maps through its fast USB connection. Cost is $240 with FREE SHIPPING form Amazon.

High End Handheld GPS
Garmin GPSMAP 60CS - The GPSMap 60CS is a bigger handheld that offers a big screen and s full compliment of features that you would expect to see in a high end handheld. It offers a reasonable memory that accepts detailed street or Topo maps. Cost is $360 with FREE SHIPPING at Amazon.

Fitness GPS
Garmin Forerunner 201 - For the runner in your household there is the Forerunner 201, a wrist mounted GPS trainer that allows you to track your pace, and then download the data onto your PC to see both the route and chart your results; showing you your pace versus altitude, etc. We have been using one for a couple of months and really like it. The Forerunner 201 is $113 with FREE SHIPPING from Amazon.

Funky New Traveling GPS
Need a great new gift for the traveler? The Garmin Nuvi is a great device and is potentially the hottest GPS for the this season that can help you navigate in the car, as well as offer translation of words into different languages and a currency converter. Bored? It can also play MP3's and audio books. Cost is $899 with FREE SHIPPING at Amazon.


Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

November 24, 2005

GPS Review: Cobra NavOne 4500 Review from GPS Lodge

We have been driving around New England for a few weeks now under the guidance of the Cobra NavOne 4500 GPS and overall this is a sound device that can get you from here to there in the lap of screen real estate luxury. We really had a pleasure using the Cobra NavOne 4500 gps for this review. There are lots of bells and whistles to entice you to buy this one, and overall the unit is sound. It's a big old thing, and with that come a few luxuries and a few minor annoyances but all in all, it's a good unit. Right now, the Cobra NavOne 4500 GPS is available at Amazon with FREE SHIPPING.

ArrowContinue reading: "GPS Review: Cobra NavOne 4500 Review from GPS Lodge"

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

November 18, 2005

Garmin StreetPilot C340 Arrives for Review at GPS Lodge

We are happy to have yet another automotive GPS for review here at the GPS Lodge. We have been cycling through a few, and this time we get to drive around with the Garmin StreetPilot C340 for a couple of weeks. The StreetPilot C340 is in the upper part of the mid-tier for the automotive segment. The Garmin C-series adds some features above and beyond the lower end i-series that we recently reviewed (see Garmin StreetPilot i3 Review). The StreetPilot C340 most notably adds a larger touchscreen, and the ability to use the GTM-10 antenna to receive FM based traffic feeds.

Check out our Garmin Streetpilot C340 Review.

Shopping for a Gift? See our Holiday Shopping Guide featuring the Garmin C340 GPS!

ArrowContinue reading: "Garmin StreetPilot C340 Arrives for Review at GPS Lodge"

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

November 10, 2005

Review: TomTom GO 300 GPS Review at the GPS Lodge

Over the last week or so, we have been using the TomTom GO 300to navigate around Boston and the bottom line is that we really like it a lot for its good looking design and its sound navigation as well as having a certain personality for being happy-go-lucky. The price point on the TomTom GO 300 puts it in the mid-tier for automotive GPS sat-nav devices, with a good dose of nice features like pre-loaded maps, a nice big touchscreen, the ability to save itineraries, and complex route planning. A big plus for the TomTom GO 300 is that it can use your Bluetooth phone to connect and get weather and traffic updates too.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: TomTom GO 300 GPS Review at the GPS Lodge"

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

November 9, 2005

Cobra NavOne 4500 GPS arrives for Review at the GPS Lodge

The Cobra NavOne 4500 car GPS arrived for review at the GPS Lodge, and wow is this BIG. It is strikingly huge with its bright 5" screen and is heavy look and feel. The design is somewhat retro with its chrome trim and its sharper defined edges. Kindof cool. I took it for a few tours around town briefly and the featureset is very big also; I feel pampered with the self dimming screen, the voice navigation that warns me with plenty of notice, and then gives a visual countdown to the turn with a little bar chart over on the side of the screen (with so much screen real estate you can afford to do this).

ArrowContinue reading: "Cobra NavOne 4500 GPS arrives for Review at the GPS Lodge"

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

November 6, 2005

Another great review for the Garmin StreetPilot 2720 GPS

Another great review of the Garmin StreetPilot 2720 has surfaced, raising it up as one of the better GPS units out there to consider for the holiday season. The StreetPilot 2720 is a higher end unit that incorporates a sleek touchscreen with advanced GPS features bundled with the optional traffic feed system for a well rounded feature set. The Garmin interface is a pretty well accomplished system, that can be found throughout the Garmin StreetPilot line from the i-series (See our Review) to up through the C-Series and into the successful 2600 and 2700 series.

ArrowContinue reading: "Another great review for the Garmin StreetPilot 2720 GPS"

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

November 4, 2005

Review: Garmin StreetPilot i3 GPS Review from GPS Lodge

We have been using the Garmin StreetPilot i3 for this review over the last couple of weeks here at the GPS Lodge, and it has worked very well, never letting us down for getting us from here to there. The StreetPilot i3 is a compact entry level car GPS that is a trusted rock solid performer on the road, with a nice set of features that can be bought for not a lot of money. If that someone special is a gadget hound, it would really make a nice addition to their wish list. Keep in mind that this is a basic car GPS, designed to get you from here to there, and as a result, is lean on the advanced features that come in units that can cost a lot more. (See our Preview Article preparing for this GPS Review on the StreetPilot i3)

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Garmin StreetPilot i3 GPS Review from GPS Lodge"

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email


Powered by FeedBlitz

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Subscribe - RSS
Site Navigation

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

Archives

TechPiree

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Powered by
Movable Type 6.3
All items Copyright © 1999-2017 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy