January 24, 2007

Navman N60i Review

NavmanN60i.jpg
PC Mag has a good review up of the Navman N60i GPS system that joins the widescreen set of GPS systems, and comes equipped with the SiRF star III chipset for fast start-up times and solid locks on satellite signals. The unit comes pre-loaded with North American maps on solid-state memory, and has an internal battery for a few hours of unplugged navigation. The unit is not Test to Speech (TTS) capable, but does offer voice guidance.

The big feature on the Navman higher end GPS systems like the N60i is the ability to take pictures, and load them in as placemarks for points of interest or locations. The N60i comes with a camera, and the ability to geotag pictures with the location you took them. You can then scroll through pictures, tap the ones that are geotagged and navigate back to that place. This feature first came out on the Navman iCN 760 and is now transferred to the slimmer better looking sibling the N60i.

Craig Ellison says, “Overall, the Navman N60i represents a significant improvement over the iCN 750. It has a better, lighter form factor, a larger, better screen, an extended battery life, and a lower price. Though I don't find NavPix compelling, it's a nice feature and, at the lower price, doesn't represent a significant premium.”

For his full take on the Navman N60i head on over to PC Mag.

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

DeLorme PN-20 Handheld Review

DelormePN20.jpg
The DeLorme handheld PN-20 GPS was recently announced and released (see our announcement and product overview), which marked another step in handheld GPS evolution. Both Bushnell and DeLorme are breaking new ground with the advent of downloadable aerial and satellite photos onto handheld GPS devices to be used as overlays on top of base maps or TOPO maps that are already in the based system. The PN-20 from DeLorme is a new entry that appears to be hitting the mark with a lot of nice features and for the most part, well-implemented capabilities to allow you a richer experience as a result of this realistic birds eye view. The download process is simple and you can gather only the images that you need for a very specific outing (they can get expensive), load them on the PN-20 and go.

ArrowContinue reading: "DeLorme PN-20 Handheld Review"

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

Review: Bushnell NAV-500 Review by GPSLodge

BushnellNav500.jpg
I have been navigating around New England with the help of the Bushnell NAV 500, and it’s high time that I navigated to my computer to tell you about it. I’ve taken it on road trips over the holidays as well as some local shopping to fill the space under the now long gone Christmas Tree.

The Bushnell Nav500 is solidly in the mid-tier for GPS navigation units, and comes with a 3.5-inch touchscreen, pre-loaded maps of North America, and is driven by the SiRF star III chipset. The unit offers turn-by-turn spoken directions, but not text to speech directions that tell you the name of the street to turn onto. The unit comes with its entire back clad in nicely rubberized for a high quality feel that also inspires a bit of confidence when handling it. The feel is solid throughout, and the unit is well built. The underlying software is from Smart2Go, which is based in Europe, and has a little Americanization to be done to make it feel like it’s, mine, but otherwise the unit is good.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Bushnell NAV-500 Review by GPSLodge"

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

December 20, 2006

Pharos Drive 140 Review

pharos140GPS.jpg

PC Mag has posted a review of the Pharos Drive 140 navigation system. In his review, Craig Ellison walks through some of the features that work and don't work on the Pharos GPS. The unit runs on a Windows platform and Ostia navigation engine software. It features a widescreen format, while still maintaining a smallish form factor that is still able to fit in a pocket and go on the road with you. Performance was good, but there are a few stumbles that hurt an overall solid review.

Specifically, you can't search for POI's other than in your current area; i.e. not along your route, and the unit is designed with the maps on the included 2GB card. If you want to load the multimedia unit with more than 50MB of your own content, you'll need to remove the maps. This would of course kill your ability to navigate.

The unit also offers Bluetooth connectivity for handsfree calling.

ReadMore at PC Mag

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

December 19, 2006

Mio H610 - Another Review

H610 Hi-Res.JPG
A review on the Mio H610 has come out of the UK retailer Unbeatable, and they give it a mixed review. When I used the unit, I thought that the interface was a bit crowded, and the software did have bit of a longer learning curve due to a lot of features jammed in there, but Unbeatable really knocks them for this. I didn’t think that it was terrible, and most gadget people could get past this with an average level intuition. Unbeatable does like the design aspects of the unit, and explores the whole “Designed for a woman” angle, which I am not even going to touch… I don’t really care who it is designed for, because it’s a well designed machine that could very well be the start of the small GPS trend.

Anyway, read their point of view for yourselves – More at Unbeatable.
Read my Review on the Mio H610.

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

December 14, 2006

Review: Bushnell NAV-500 Arrives for Review

bushnell500.jpg
A couple of weeks ago, Bushnell announced the introduction of the NAV 500 GPS navigation system for the automobile. The unit comes with a 3.5 inch touchscreen, pre-loaded maps of North America, and is driven by the SiRF star III chipset. The unit offers turn by turn spoken directions, but not text to speech directions that tell you the name of the street to turn onto. The internal lithium ion battery should keep you running for several hours without needing power. The unit is flat, and that's a good thing; I like flat GPS units. The outside back of the unit has a cool rubberized coating to it that feels comfortable in the hand and offers a nice soft touch feel that won't slip out of your hand. ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Bushnell NAV-500 Arrives for Review"

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

December 6, 2006

Review: Mio C310x Review by GPS Lodge

MioC310GPS.JPG

Update: Mio Has Announced a Map Update for the Mio C310X!

Update: Catch all the info on the Mio C310x at GPSLodge.


I wanted to get a review of the Mio C310x up for all the folks still considering buying this unit. Mio had the C310 out earlier this year (see my review) and up versioned the unit by putting in a better set of navigation software that is based on iGo software from PDAMill. The software has a nice interface and on the C310x, a fairly straightforward layout that allows the user to navigate quickly and easily without jumping through too many hoops. The unit is small and thin enough to fit in my shirt pocket, and is a generally well-designed GPS. It’s flat and less than an inch thick, has a set of buttons down the right side that instill confidence due to the rubberized texture, and a slight bulge out the top signaling the inclusion of the SiRF Star III chipset under the hood. In my use, the unit is good, and when balanced against the rock bottom price, is a great value. There are a few things that I’d like to fix, but on balance I am pretty happy with the Mio C310x. I think that Black Friday was Mio’s coming out party, and I’d like to welcome them to the big time of GPS models on the market.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Mio C310x Review by GPS Lodge"

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (80) | social bookmarking

November 29, 2006

Review: Alpine Blackbird


Interesting review over at GPS Magazine covering the Alpine Blackbird. Fits my maybe continual bantering that it’s easy to make a GPS, and it’s hard to make a good GPS. Well, apparently the folks at Alpine are having a tough time making a good GPS. It’s great to see that there are a lot of companies coming into the GPS space, because competition spurs innovation and we get cool things like traffic alerts or handsfree Bluetooth communication or two way internet connectivity for information lookup…. Two issues that they bring out, interface problems, specifically the address entry issues, and simple navigation issues. A couple of biggies, if you ask me.

When I was using the Delphi NAV200 product, I had trouble with address entry and it appeared to come back to the underlying data formats. Sometimes towns were listed as “Norwood, Town of” which comes up in the alphabetical listing below every other “Norwood” in the US….. frustrating when you have to scroll through a few dozen looking for the one near you. One has to wonder if there are some data issues with the Alpine helping to drive the address entry issues. The GPSMag reviews are photo heavy, so if you want to skip to the meat of the problems, start here and read the last 3 pages.

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

November 24, 2006

Review: Garmin Nuvi 660 - Excellent

Garmin_Nuvi_660

The Garmin Nuvi 660 is the wonderfully flat and wide screened GPS that is a rock star already in the GPS world. Its thin profile has it ready to go anywhere, and the widescreen shows you so much more than a standard screened navigator, you’ll never want to go back. CNet finally put out their review of the Nuvi 660 and they rate is excellent (8.3 out of 10), and they don’t do that too often. I thought it was the best GPS I have ever used when I reviewed the Nuvi 660 a couple of months ago.

Bonnie Cha at CNet agrees, “We took the Garmin Nuvi 660 out for a test-drive in San Francisco, and it performed wonderfully.” They were concerned over the price, “Now, here's the bad news. It costs a whopping $1,076.91, and you have to fork over even more cash if you want the expanded travel tools.” Come on folks, even the worst bricks and mortar store is selling <$1,000 and we know here at the GPSLodge that it sells for about $750 at Amazon and GPSNow.

ReadMore on the Garmin Nuvi 660 Review at CNet

More Nuvi 660 information.

UPDATE: I have posted my Review of the New Garmin Nuvi 680

For a full list of my own Hands on Full Reviews of GPS units; Click - GPSLodge.com Hands On Reviews

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

November 22, 2006

Review: Mio H610 by GPS Lodge

H610 Hi-Res.JPG

The Mio H610 is a svelte little GPS device that has is an absolute beauty to behold, with its amazing screen and its simple rounded shape. The unit is a strong step forward in the GPS field, leading in many ways, others who haven't recognized the opportunity to get a beautiful device delivering a GPS with some seam functions that bring it darn close to a PDA device. The Mio H610 performs well as a GPS, and adds on a lot of simple functionality that make it a data center for travel and a general life-aid.

Need some guidance on what GPS to buy? - Check out our Holiday GPS Buying Guide

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Mio H610 by GPS Lodge"

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email


Powered by FeedBlitz

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Subscribe - RSS
Site Navigation

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

Archives

TechPiree

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Powered by
Movable Type 6.3
All items Copyright © 1999-2017 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy