November 16, 2006

Review: DeLorme StreetAtlas 2007

DelormeSA2007PLUS.jpg
StreetAtlas 2007 will let you navigate, plan and share maps, and routes. The software will install on your computer or ideally your laptop and once hooked to a GPS, will allow you to navigate with voice commands, and offers the ability to give you a full laptop screen’s view of where you are going. It’s important to understand that StreetAtlas 2007 is more than “just” a navigation aid, like a portable GPS. In my mind, it’s the combination of navigation and map/navigation manager software all in one. It’s really like iTunes vs. the iPod. In iTunes, you can do so much more than just listen to music, you can buy, manage, sort save lists, etc.; however, it’s tied to a computer and not as portable as the iPod. Same thing here, with StreetAtlas 2007 you can do so much management with so many capabilities, it’s really incredible, but you’re tied to a computer for most of this information.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: DeLorme StreetAtlas 2007"

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

November 14, 2006

Review: Delphi NAV200

Delphinav200_wside.jpg
The Delphi NAV200 is an affordable GPS that recently came onto the market with some quality features that allow you to get to where you’re going. The small form factor is appealing and the use of the SiRF star III chipset is a mark of quality for pulling in the sometimes-tough satellite signals. The unit has a lot of features in this little package, including navigation, media player capability (movie/MP3), photo viewer, as well as packing in a reverse game, a calculator and a world clock. In my use, the unit provided sound directions and navigation, never getting me lost, but there were some user interface concerns and some usability things that were concerning. ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Delphi NAV200"

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

November 12, 2006

Review: Garmin GPSMap 60CSx Arrives for Review

60csx-1.jpg
The Garmin GPSMap 60CSx handheld GPS arrived for review here at the old GPS Lodge and we're happy to take it on a few outings to test it. The Garmin 60 CSx is the top of the line handheld GPS out of the Garmin shop, and recently won the Gear of the Year award from Outside Magazine. The unit comes packed with a lot of features and is able to help you get there and back in style.

UPDATE: See our Review of the Garmin GPSMAP 60CSx

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Garmin GPSMap 60CSx Arrives for Review"

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

November 9, 2006

Review: Lowrance iWay 250C

lowrance250c.jpg

The Lowrance iWay 250C was recently announced and has been doing well in the market as a value GPS that has a lot of nice features in a great flat form factor. While the unit is small it's not small on features, including a 3.5 inch touch screen, pre-loaded maps on the unit for the US and Canada, as well as more than 4.5 million Points of Interest (POI). We reviewed the Lowrance iWay 350C last year and found it to be very customizable in terms of the amount and type of data you wanted to have displayed. The iWay 250C is similar, and has the ability to load up or slim down on the data fields.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Lowrance iWay 250C"

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (1) | social bookmarking

November 6, 2006

GPS Review: Averatec Voya 350

averatecvoya350.jpg
Another review of the bargain priced Averatec Voya 350 has hit the web and I thought I would pass it along. This one reads a little bit like the reviewer is going easy on them, as he cites slow speed and a few operating system crashes as "minor complaints". The unit does have some solid stats and features, and the unit does sound like it's easy to use and well laid out.

The review says: "With a direct price of $380, the Averatec Voya 350 offers lots of bang for the buck. I expected that this bargain price, which doesn't include a $30 rebate if you order before the end of the year, would mean a boatload of compromises but was surprised to find Voya provides all the essentials: a SiRFstarIII GPS receiver, a generous points-of-interest database, and a simple touch-screen interface."

ReadMore at InformationWeek

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

November 3, 2006

Review: Garmin Nuvi 660

Garmin_Nuvi_660
Another strong review for the Garmin Nuvi 660 has surfaced; this time from the UK. I think that this is significant because Garmin has a long way to go on the European continent where they trail rival TomTom by a wide margin, upwards to 35% share of the market. We reviewed the Garmin Nuvi 660 in October, and I thought it was the best GPS I have ever used. BIOS simply says, “The Nuvi 660 is a great GPS unit….You’ll pay to get this performance, but if you can stretch your budget you won’t regret it.”

I think that they are right on.

UPDATE: I have posted my Review of the New Nuvi 680

Read My Review of the Garmin Nuvi 660

Read more on the Review of the Garmin Nuvi 660 at Bios

If you want to compare the Garmin Nuvi line check out our article: Garmin Nuvi: Compare the Nuvi 350 vs. 360 vs. 660


Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

Review: Navman F20

navmanf20.jpg
Navman recently introduced an affordable product to the market in the Navman F20, a unit that flirts with the $300 price level in some online shops. So, do you get a bargain or a bad GPS for that?

The compact Navman F20 is a compact feature solid GPS that has an accurate direction engine, but in a recent review it was found that the Navman F20 has an outdated POI database, and a smallish, weak speaker. The slim and very portable unit is easily swapped from car to car, and has some easy to use navigation buttons on the housing that gets you quickly to some core functions, like finding gas or parking. The unit ships with maps pre-loaded on a 2GB SD card, and with some easy set-up you are ready to navigate out of the box. You get voice prompted navigation but not text to speech that is found in higher end units, so it won’t say most street names.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Navman F20"

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (2) | social bookmarking

October 26, 2006

Review: Magellan RoadMate 3050T

3050T.jpeg

Magellan has launched their new line of Automobile navigation systems, updating their line of product with fresh new entries that make the grade as far as features go. The new Magellan RoadMate 3050T is the at the mid-point in the line that offers a lot of capability in a flat form factor.

The RoadMate 3050T comes with maps that are preloaded and the the 3.5 inch, color touch screen and buttons provide fast, one-touch access to key features, while nationwide street maps preloaded on the built-in hard drive deliver Turn it on and go!(TM), door-to-door guidance anywhere in North America. QuickSpell(TM) technology and the simple, intuitive user interface allow drivers to easily select their destination and get on the road quickly while seeing their progress in a 2-D or 3-D bird's eye view of the moving map.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Magellan RoadMate 3050T"

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

October 25, 2006

Review: Magellan RoadMate 6000T

Magellan has launched their new line of Automobile navigation systems, updating their line of product with fresh new entries that make the grade as far as features go. The new Magellan RoadMate 6000T is the flagship model in the line that offers a lot of capability in a flat form factor. Long time readers know that I like the idea of flat GPS units, and I welcome the idea for Magellan's new RoadMate line. The RoadMate 6000T comes with Bluetooth Handsfree capabilities as well as traffic capabilities. The maps are preloaded and the the 3.5 inch, color touch screen and buttons provide fast, one-touch access to key features, while nationwide street maps preloaded on the built-in hard drive deliver Turn it on and go!(TM), door-to-door guidance anywhere in North America. QuickSpell(TM) technology and the simple, intuitive user interface allow drivers to easily select their destination and get on the road quickly while seeing their progress in a 2-D or 3-D bird's eye view of the moving map.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Magellan RoadMate 6000T"

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

October 20, 2006

Review: Delphi NAV200 Arrives for Review

Delphinav200_wside.jpg

Update: See our review of the Delphi NAV200 GPS


The Delphi NAV200 arrived for review here at the GPS Lodge, and we've already got this inexpensive GPS on the windshield, ready to go. The Delphi NAV200 GPS is a flat form factor (good move), has an internal battery, is based on NAVTEQ maps and POI's and has a SiRF star III under the hood. It takes the multi-media play up a notch with picture and movie viewing, as well as MP3 playing. I have to say that I am also getting my reversi fix these days playing it on the Delphi NAV200 - it has this game loaded on the machine. Sorry, no Minesweeper.

ArrowContinue reading: "Review: Delphi NAV200 Arrives for Review"

Scott Martin at Permalink | Comments (0) | social bookmarking

Join the Mailing List Mailing List
Enter your Email


Powered by FeedBlitz

facebook_badge.jpg twitter_badge.jpg

Subscribe - RSS
Site Navigation

Visit our other properties at Blogpire.com!

Archives

TechPiree

This weblog is licensed under a Creative Commons License.

Powered by
Movable Type 6.3
All items Copyright © 1999-2017 Blogpire Productions. Please read our Disclaimer and Privacy Policy